Weekend Update

Hey all,

We had a relaxing and productive weekend. I ended up taking a half day off on Friday and surprising the family (as you probably know based on a previous post). It was like having a three day weekend!

I had lunch with Terry Mensonides, a friend of mine from middle school, high school, and college, on Friday afternoon. We got to talking about our new raised bed garden and how to keep things warm and wet. He asked if I had ever seen the technique used by some farmers where they cover sections of their fields with clear plastic tarps to retain heat and moisture.

After our lunch I got an idea to build a greenhouse out of materials I could find at the hardware store. I didn’t want to spend a lot of money (less than $50) or a lot of time (less than 3 hours). So I decided to see what I could create using PVC pipe and fittings, clear plastic drop cloth, and duck tape.

Granted, it looks kinda ghetto, but I think it works. I went outside today and checked on things and I found that there was moisture all over the interior which means two things: I had enough heat for evaporation and that the moisture was trapped! This is great, considering today’s high was 57 F.

When I went inside to see the family I saw these:

Yay! Oatmeal raisin cookies!

Aaden also found his toes.

5 thoughts on “Weekend Update

Leave a Reply

